Official Summerstage 2008 Schedule

Summerstage 2008

It’s officially here folks…


Friday, June 13 7:00 pm
Opening Night
Mavis Staples
Stephanie McKay

Saturday, June 14 4:00 pm
Vampire Weekend
Kid Sister
Ecstatic Sunshine

Sunday, June 15 3:00 pm
Victor Manuelle and Special Guests

Friday, June 20 8:00 pm
Comedy Central Park
Stephen Lynch
Mike Birbiglia

Hosted by Julian McCullough

Saturday, June 21 7:00 pm
Definitely Poetry
Kokayi Lemon, La Bruja
Will Power, JLove, Calderon

Sunday, June 22 7:00 pm
Yael Naim
Piers Faccini

Thursday, June 26 6:00 PM
Thievery Corporation
Seu Jorge
Bebel Gilberto
Federico Aubele

Buy Tickets

Saturday, June 28 3:00 pm
Vieux Farka Touré
Fallou Dieng
Kaleta & ZoZo Afrobeat

Sunday, June 29 3:00 pm
Mosh Ben Ari
Rupa and the April Fishes
DJ Diwon

Saturday, July 5 3:00 pm
Rachid Taha
Dengue Fever
Apollo Heights

Sunday, July 6 3:00 pm
Seun Kuti and Egypt 80
Afrika Bambaataa

Wednesday, July 9 7:00 pm
Music & Film Series
La Lupe Queen of Latin Soul, directed by Ela Troyano
Bragging Rights: Stickball Stories, directed by Sonia N. Gonzalez
Cucu Diamentes

Thursday, July 10 7:00 pm
Music & Film Series
The Harder They Come, directed by Perry Henzell

Friday, July 11 8:00 pm
Rennie Harris/Pure Movement
Francesca Harper Project

Saturday, July 12 3:00 pm
Julieta Venegas
Plastilina Mosh

Sunday, July 13 3:00 pm
Global Family Day!
Big Nazo Baby Loves Salsa, featuring Jose Conde
Cinderella Samba

Thursday, July 17 7:00 pm
Junot Diaz

Friday, July 18 7:00 pm
Video Music Box 25th Anniversary Concert

Saturday, July 19 3:00 pm
Gospel Day
Artists to be announced.

Sunday July 20 3:00 pm

Saturday, July 26 7:00 pm
Kibbutz Contemporary Dance Company

Sunday, July 27 3:00 pm
Taj Mahal
Los Pinguos

Thursday, July 31 7:00pm
Richard Price
Charles Bock

Friday, August 1 8:00 pm
Max Pollak and RumbaTap

Saturday, August 2 7:00 pm
Roy Hargrove Big Band and Special Guests

Sunday, August 3 3:00 pm
Jamie Lidell
Janelle Monáe
Jose James
Little Jackie

Hosted by Gilles Peterson

Friday, August 8 8:00 pm
Jennifer Muller/The Works
Erica Essner’s Performance Co-Op

Saturday, August 9 3:00 pm
Mexican Heritage Day
Alejandro Escovedo with Strings

Sunday, August 10 7:00 pm
CineFest Brasil
The House of Tom – Mundo, Monde, Mondo, directed by Ana Jobim
Maria Rita

Thursday, August 14 7:00 pm
Los Lonely Boys
Los Lobos

Friday, August 15 7:00 pm

Saturday, August 16 3:00 pm
Black Dice

Sunday, August 17 3:00 pm
Closing Day
Sharon Jones & the Dap-Kings
Menahan Street Band

The following benefit concerts support the free Central Park SummerStage festival:

Wednesday, July 23 7:00 pm
Mark Knopfler
Buy Tickets

Tuesday, July 29 7:00 pm
Crosby, Stills & Nash
Buy Tickets

Monday, August 4 6:30 pm
The National, Yeasayer
Buy Tickets (05/30 @ noon)

Wednesday, August 6 8:00 pm
Sonny Rollins
Buy Tickets

One thought on “Official Summerstage 2008 Schedule”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *