New Yorker Festival Announces 2009 Dates, Preliminary Schedule

New Yorker Festival 2009

In a marked departure from their past practices, the New Yorker has already announced the dates for the 10th Anniversary New Yorker Festival. This year’s festival will take place from October 9 -18, 2009 and it will be 10 days long (instead of the usual 3). Preliminary schedule is below, more information can be found at

Ten Days of Festival

The New Yorker Festival 10 will be the biggest one yet. An overview of the newly expanded program follows. Check back on this site or join Festival Wire for reports on further developments.

Friday, October 9
Tales Out of School: New Yorker Writers on The New Yorker
An evening of recollections from the magazine’s writers. Presented with The Moth.

Saturday, October 10
Brooklyn Playlist
A New Yorker Festival concert featuring bands from the borough of kings.

Sunday, October 11
Tailing Tilley
An urban scavenger hunt drawing on eighty-five years of New Yorker history.

Monday, October 12
New Yorker Poetry
A free evening of poetry readings, curated by Paul Muldoon.

Tuesday, October 13
Fiction Live
Actors read stories from the pages of The New Yorker.

Wednesday, October 14
New Yorker Festival 10 Party
A gathering for New Yorker readers, celebrating ten years of the Festival.

Thursday, October 15
A New Yorker Humor Revue
New Yorker humor writers read selections from their work.

Friday, October 16
Festival programming throughout the evening.

Saturday, October 17
Festival programming throughout the day and evening.

Sunday, October 18
Festival programming throughout the day
Festival 10 Closing Event:
“The View from Ninth Avenue”: The New Yorker Celebrates the City It Calls Home

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *