This American Life Live w/ Musical Guest Joss Whedon

This American Life

As they do from time to time, Ira Glass and the folks from This American Life are putting some live shows in Chicago and NYC. If you missed getting ($50) tickets to the show at the Skirball Center, which sold out in two days, you can still catch the New York performance on its inevitable radio rebroadcast or at a live HD simulcast at movie theatre in a city near you. Here’s some PR blurbage on the New York event:

Movie tickets are on sale NOW for This American Life””Live!, our stage show that will be beamed via satellite to more than 400 movie screens nationwide on Thursday, April 23rd.

Ira Glass will host an actual episode of the radio program, performed onstage by some of our favorite contributors. Dan Savage, Starlee Kine, and Mike Birbiglia will tell stories. David Rakoff and Dave Hill will conduct a “˜special investigation.’ Plus a new cartoon by Chris Ware, additional visuals by Arthur Jones, and a very special appearance by Joss Whedon, creator of Buffy the Vampire Slayer! The performance will last around two hours. We’re going to capture the whole thing with a bunch of HD cameras, and send it live* to movie theatres all over the country.

It’s gonna be a fun night. We hope you’ll come.

One night only. Thursday, April 23rd. In select movie theatres and performing arts centers nationwide.

*8 PM EDT / 7 PM CDT / 6 PM MDT and time delayed to 8PM PDT (also 8 PM in Arizona and 7 PM in Hawaii).

View the complete list of participating theatres over here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *