Polaris Prize Winner Announced Tonight

Polaris Music Prize Tonight, the winner of the Polaris Music Prize will be announced. The Polaris Prize is a $20,000 cash prize awarded to the best “full-length Canadian album of the highest artistic integrity, without regard to musical genre, professional affiliation, or sales history as judged by a panel of selected critics and experts”. In case you forgot, the 2007 nominees are:

Arcade FireNeon Bible
The Besnard LakesThe Besnard Lakes Are The Dark Horse
The DearsGang of Losers
Julie DoironWoke Myself Up
FeistThe Reminder
Junior BoysSo This Is Goodbye
Miracle FortressFive Roses
Joel PlaskettAshtray Rock
Chad VanGaalenSkelliconnection
Patrick WatsonClose To Paradise

Personally, I would love to see Graham Van Pelt’s Miracle Fortress win this award as I think that Five Roses is a great record. I also think it is criminal that Ongiara by Great Lake Swimmers was not nominated as that surely will make my top ten best albums of 2007 list. It would have also been nice to Vancouver rocker Shane Nelken and his band The Awkward Stage on this esteemed list of nominees.

CBC Radio 3 host Grant Lawrence will be hosting the gala awards show tonight (Monday) at the Phoenix Concert Theatre in Toronto and will be broadcast live on Sirius Radio 3.

BrooklynVegan Mike has in-depth wrap of the nominees over here.