VIP Ticket Giveaway for Playing For Change and Baaba Maal at Summerstage + Playing For Change Live CD/DVD Giveaway

Playing for Change at Rumsey Playfield in Central Park (06/15/10)
Playing for Change
Photo: Jeremy Goulder

Playing For Change Live, a special two-disc CD/DVD, comes out Tuesday, June 15th on Concord/Playing For Change Records. Celebrating the Playing for Change Band’s 2009 world-tour, the CD/DVD features guest appearances by Toots Hibbert, Keb’ Mo and Ziggy Marley and a 90-minute film featuring exclusive interviews, behind-the-scenes and performance footage.

In celebration of the release of their new CD and DVD, Playing for Change will be opening for Senegalese superstar Baaba Maal at the Rumsey Playfield in Central Park (aka Summerstage) on Monday, June 14. I’ve got a pair of VIP tickets (VIP express entrance, guaranteed admission, VIP seating) to give away to that Summerstage show along with a copy of Playing For Change‘s new live CD/DVD to one lucky winner. To enter, fill out the contest entry form after the jump. Contest ends Sunday, June 13 at 6PM, one lucky winner will be notified on Sunday night.

Contest entry form, video trailer, cd/dvd album art and track listing, and more Playing For Change tour dates after the jump.

View the full Summerstage 2010 concert lineup over here.

Playing for Change Summer 2010 Tour ft. Grandpa Elliott and Clarence Bekker
June 14 New York, NY Summerstage
June 16 San Diego, CA Belly Up
June 18 Boonville, CA Sierra Nevada World Music Festival
June 19 San Francisco, CA Slim’s
June 20 Los Angeles, CA Hollywood Bowl

Playing For Change Live
Playing For Change Live

1. Fannie Mae
2. Don’t Worry
3. Back To Your Roots
4. I’ve Got Dreams To Remember – featuring Toots Hibbert
5. Fela Ngaye
6. Children of the World
7. Love Is My Religion – featuring Ziggy Marley
8. Mado
9. One Love
10. Stand By Me

1. Fannie Mae
2. Don’t Worry
3. Back To Your Roots
4. I’ve Got Dreams To Remember – featuring Toots Hibbert
5. Fela Ngaye
6. Sugar Sweet
7. Children of the World
8. Love Is My Religion – featuring Ziggy Marley
9. Mado
10. What’s Up/Don’t Worry Be Happy
11. One Love
12. End Credits/Stand By Me

Bonus Tracks
1. Amazing Grace
2. Imidiwan Afrik Temdam

The Film
“On The Road With the PFC Band”
Directed by Mark Johnson, Kevin Krupitzer and Jonathan Walls


For the next chapter of Playing For Change’s improbable journey, founder and architect Mark Johnson assembled a band with musicians from around the globe, many of whom appeared in the now ubiquitous “Stand By Me” video (which has been viewed on the internet more than 30 million times). What started as a simple concept to virtually bring musicians from different cultures together via technology for the common purpose of promoting peace through music, resulted in a bonafide cultural phenomenon; but no one was quite sure what would happen when they all gathered for the first time for a special performance at Austin’s SXSW music conference in 2009. Sure, the Playing For Change story had captured imaginations around the world and their inspiring mix of togetherness, positivity and sterling musicianship had undeniably created a movement and surprised the music industry. But what would happen when they were actually on tour together? Could the Playing For Change idea live and breathe in the here and now?

The result was astonishing. After sold-out shows, critical acclaim and the smiles of thousands of new fans, the questions have been answered. On June 15th, Playing For Change Records/Concord Music Group will release Playing For Change Live – a special two-disc CD/DVD containing a ten-song audio CD and a fourteen-track DVD, documenting the Playing For Change Band’s triumphant 2009 world-tour.

On Playing For Change Live, the PFC band is captured all over the world including riveting performances from the U.K.’s Glastonbury Festival, Vancouver, Madrid, Los Angeles and the Santa Monica Pier where the project’s extraordinary journey began. The band’s incredible energy and brilliant musicianship is evident on Bob Marley’s “One Love,” a medley of 4 Non Blondes’ and Bobby McFerrin’s ‘What’s Up”/“Don’t Worry Be Happy”, the 1959 American R&B gem “Fannie Mae (with Keb’ Mo!) and original band compositions like Titi Tsira’s “Fela ngaye” and Louis Mhlanga’s “Children Of The World” just to name a few. Guest appearances also include reggae legends, Toots Hibbert on the Otis Redding classic “I’ve Got Dreams To Remember” and Ziggy Marley on his own “Love Is My Religion.”

The DVD also contains the 90-minute film “On The Road With the PFC Band” chronicling the band’s improbable story of strength, support and harmony. The video log’s remarkable backstage, behind-the-scenes, performance and interview footage includes personal insights and inspiring moments from touring members: percussionist Mohammed Alidu (Northern Ghana), vocalist Clarence Bekker (Amsterdam), drummer Peter Bunetta (Los Angeles), vocals/harmonica Grandpa Elliott (New Orleans), vocals/percussionist Mermans Kenkosenki (Kinshasa, DR Congo), guitarist Louis Mhlanga (Zimbabwe), bassist Reggie McBride (Detroit), guitarist Jason Tamba (Kinshasa, DR Congo), vocalists Tal Ben-Ari “Tula” (Israel), Titi Tsira (Gugulethu, African township in the Western Cape) and PFC founder Mark Johnson. Along the way, we get to know the musicians and discover the emotional stories of perseverance and hope that enabled them to take part in this globally celebrated effort.

With its stirring call for reconciliation and cross-cultural unification, the global music collaboration/multi-media project; Playing For Change has struck a deep and powerful chord worldwide. Founder, filmmaker, and Grammy winning producer Mark Johnson was looking for musicians for his film, Peace Through Music when he captured a mesmerizing performance of the Ben E. King classic “Stand By Me” by legendary street singer, Roger Ridley in Santa Monica. Mark then took the show on the road. In New Orleans, he put headphones on beloved local street performer, Grandpa Elliott, who harmonized with Ridley’s soulful rendition of the song and he was on his way. Using innovative mobile technology and traveling the world, he filmed and recorded more than 100 musicians, largely outdoors, in parks, plazas and promenades, in doorways, on cobblestone streets and amid hilly pueblos. Each performance created a new mix in which the artists are all performing together, albeit hundreds or thousands of miles apart.

In April of 2009, Hear Music/Concord Music Group released the CD/DVD Playing For Change – Songs Around The World and shocked the music world when it debuted in Billboard’s Top 10. The accompanying documentary Playing For Change – Peace Through Music, was broadcast nationwide by PBS that summer.

Recording musicians in some of the poorest parts of the world also inspired PFC to establish the Playing For Change Foundation, which offers resources – including facilities, technology, musical instruments and education – to musicians and their communities. Currently, PFCF has constructed and opened two schools in South Africa and Ghana, as well as programs that we are developing and/or operating in Mali, Nepal, Rwanda, and Jamaica.