Sufjan Stevens Released A New EP Today, Stream It For Free (Buy It For $5)

All Delighted People EP – Sufjan Stevens
All Delighted People - Sufjan Stevens

Much to my surprise (and many others I’m guessing) indie folk troubadour Sufjan Stevens released a brand new (8 song, 60 min) EP today entitled All Delighted People. Currently, the album is available as a free stream or a $5.00 download exclusively at The EP will be available for purchase at most major digital retailers (amazon, itunes etc) on Monday, August 23 and will appear on CD and 180 gram vinyl later this year via Asthmatic Kitty.

All Delighted People is built around two different versions of Sufjan’s long-form epic ballad “All Delighted People,” a dramatic homage to the Apocalypse, existential ennui, and Paul Simon’s “Sounds of Silence.” Sounds delightful, yes! The song was originally workshopped on Sufjan’s previous tour in the fall of 2009. Other songs on the EP include the 17-minute guitar jam-for-single-mothers “Djohariah,” and the gothic piano ballad “The Owl and the Tanager,” a live-show mainstay (and Debbie Downer if you ask us; what’s it doing on a “Delighted” EP?).

Raise Your Hands! []

Sufjan is playing the Beacon Theatre on November 14 and 15 (unfortunately, both shows are already SOLD OUT though).

View the All Delighted People EP track list after the jump.

All Delighted People EP Track List:
1. All Delighted People (Original Version)
2. Enchanting Ghost
3. Heirloom
4. From the Mouth of Gabriel
5. The Owl and the Tanager
6. All Delighted People (Classic Rock Version)
7. Arnika
8. Djohariah